My Spotify Love Affair

It’s a decision we all have to make. Commit or run for the hills?

I have subscribed and unsubscribed to Spotify Premium so often that I genuinely don’t remember if I am currently a member or not. I can be on the tube and my music cuts out because I don’t have a playlist saved. Oh, darn, I cancelled that didn’t I?

Just Subscribe Already

So why not subscribe permanently? Yesterday, I noticed that I had not used Spotify for almost three months because I accidentally moved the app into another folder and had just been using my iPod. £30 well and truly down the drain.

On a long car journey when your CDs (remember those?) have exhausted the 6 CD changer, where do you turn? To your phone, of course. But you have no wifi in your car and the 3G is a bit dodgy on the M5. The perfect time to have invested your tenner per month into Spotify Premium.

However, as a technology enthusiast, I am always eager to find the latest app of any kind. I flirted with Apple Music but canned that after the free trial because it simply wasn’t Spotify. A bit like owning the Amazon phone a few years ago – it was nice to try it but just wasn’t as good as the real thing.

The state the obvious believers among us will be screaming “JUST PAY FOR IT” but what about the money conscious people out there? Not just the tight fisted but there are people that simply don’t like throwing money away.

Nobody Ever Got Rich Spending Money

Okay, so not exactly true but you get the idea. You wouldn’t buy something you knew you weren’t going to use. And that’s why subscription based software is so great. You can pick and choose when you want to be paying for a certain product. A wonderful way of being more frugal.

SaaS (Software as a Service) is a buzz word in the telecoms/technology/telephony industry at the moment and isn’t going anywhere. Who knew we were all pioneering this years ago with the likes of Spotify and friends?

Wikipedia describes SaaS as software licensing in which software is licensed on a subscription basis and is centrally hosted. It is sometimes referred to as “on-demand software” SaaS is typically accessed by users using a thin client via a web browser.

This is all correct but a little unfriendly to the everyday man. Wouldn’t it be better if it read “A bit like your Spotify love affair, you know?”

 

Leave a Reply

